House in Wollongong

Discussion in 'Where to Buy' started by JB40, 23rd Dec, 2017.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
Tags:
  1. JB40

JB40 Well-Known Member

Hi everyone,

I have just recently discovered this forum and this is my first post here.

I am a life long Sydney resident who was trying to buy a house for my wife and kids after selling our 2nd property (started with a unit, then a Townhouse). I was looking to buy our forever house, a run down 2 or 3 bedroom to renovate over time but I'm now aware that this will never happen as we can't compete in any of the areas we want to live and I know Sydney will only keep rising big time!!!

So the Sydney dream is over and we will continue to do what we said we would never do and rent. It's not great but we get to live near our family and within an hour of work. So now I need a different strategy.

I am thinking about a house outside of Sydney as an investment. Wollongong central seems like a good option with its proximity to Sydney and amazing homes can be had there for well under our Sydney budget allowing us to pay expensive rent. What are peoples thoughts on this beauty:

53 Rowland Avenue Wollongong NSW 2500 - House for Sale #126831702 - realestate.com.au

Apparently $900-950k which blows my mind for a home of this quality so close to the city centre and rail to Sydney. It's actually been on the market for a while which surprises me, am I missing something?

It seems like a decent long term investment that we could hopefully sell in the future to be able to buy a home somewhere quiet, probably another state, since Sydney wound not be possible for us to retire to ever.

Thanks!

2. hobartchic

hobartchic Well-Known Member