VIC Hold or sell in Burwood VIC?

Discussion in 'Where to Buy' started by thejourneybegins, 18th Dec, 2017.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
Tags:
  1. thejourneybegins

thejourneybegins Member

Hi PropertyChatters,

I've just stumbled across this forum and wished I had picked up on it much earlier! There's some good insights going around and would have liked to have been part of it sooner.

It's my first time posting so please bear with me. :)

I currently own and live in a 12 month old 3 bed townhouse in Burwood VIC. Estimated worth between $1.2m - $1.3m.

For a variety of reasons, I'm looking to move out of the area into the inner north area of Melbourne (i.e. Northcote, Clifton Hill, Fairfield, etc....). Having read through this forum, I've been considering rentvesting.

If I did rentvest, would it be worthwhile holding the Burwood property or has
    Burwood peaked and should I sell that property, and buy something else with more upside?

Financially, I won't be able to contribute more to any purchases so if I were to buy somewhere else, the cost would have to be the sale price of the Burwood property less the selling and buying costs.

Hope I haven't typed up gibberish and an early thanks to any replies!

Cheers
    Greg

2. Big Will

Big Will Well-Known Member

This is my own personal opinion but there is less upside to Melbourne than 1-2 years ago, not saying it is bad news for next year. However as you would be buying and selling in the same market it doesn't make much difference overall.

You would want to ask yourself how long are we going to stay in the inner north? If it is only a couple of years you are most definitively better off renting out Burwood and back into the property within six years (from a finance point of view).

However if you cannot handle being a tenant then there is no point rentinvesting so you are better selling and buying.