NSW Historical prices of Central Coast vs Upper North Shore suburbs

Discussion in 'Where to Buy' started by Alex AB, 10th Jul, 2021.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Alex AB

Alex AB Well-Known Member

Hi all,

I am a newbie to property investment so will need a lot of help and advices so thanks in advance. I read the forum and it seems there are a lot of helpful and knowledgeable and experiences people here so I stumble onto the right place.

I just started looking at property investment more closely recently – I know it is late and should have done that years ago, even last year, but I guess late is still better than never. Cant keep working, paying all in taxes and still no money to live off during retirement!

The first step for us to look for some suburbs to invest – we have been looking around; many nice suburbs but they are all super expensive as we all know. That is the market so leave that for later – first is to look for the areas / suburbs we should consider investing in.

The aim is to chase capital gain, in 10-15 years at least. I understand we need to look at long term like that to make sure we catch 1-2 cycles. We can afford some negative CFs (have to I guess), but hopefully not massive every month. However, CG is the main game.

We are thinking of Sydney Upper Northshore (e.g. Asquith) or Central Coast because we live in upper north shore, so at least we know the suburbs or we can drive and view properties; plus also think it has potential. I read that many people suggest to buy in Brisbane or Adelaide but as a virgin, a bit scared to buy unseen. We also prefer suburbs along the train line (can explain criteria in another post and ask for your advice about that).