Hi! + Newbie Question

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by Kevz, 27th Jul, 2017.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Kevz

Kevz New Member

Hi PC!

I've been a lurker for a while and I have been researching for a new property for the last 8-10 months. This site is a goldmine with all of the different insights and journeys people have taken!

I have a question for anybody willing to give advice to a newbie investor! With the NSW Stamp duty exemption, is it worth buying my first IP in Sydney? Being a Sydney-sider, it makes me more comfortable to buy in an area I know. However I also know that Sydney is at a peak at the current moment and it doesn't make sense to me to buy after a peak.

However, with the stamp duty exemption, if I was to go interstate, I feel like the first/second year growth will just be making up the stamp duty exemption benefit I could have received at NSW. My budget is around the 500k mark.

Thanks for all of the insights!
    -Kev

2. Sackie

Sackie Well-Known Member

Personally, I wouldn't let stamp duty exemption be the deciding factor for a deal. I would want to buy in a state which is at an advantageous part of a cycle, try to buy BMV and something potentially that has room to add value. That's just what I would do. You need to decide what's right for you.

3. Property Twins

Property Twins Mortgage Brokers & Buyers Agents Business Member

@Kevz - I can understand how you feel about the stamp duty concessions. Though as you know Sydney is at peak