Hi I'm Rixter and this is the IP Strategy I used to Quit Work

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by Rixter, 25th Jun, 2015.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Rixter

Rixter Well-Known Member

Portfolio Perth Brisbane Sydney Melbourne
    Hi, I’m Rixter and discovered SS back in late 1999.

I’ve been investing for the past 15 years after reading the book ‘Building Wealth from Residential Investment Property ’ by Jan Somers, some years beforehand.

We started actively investing in 2000 and hit it pretty full on, basically purchasing a property per year over the course of the following decade. Some years purchasing none and other years purchasing two depending upon financial circumstances and existing portfolio performance at time of each IP purchase.

To date we have built a substantial size multi-million dollar residential property portfolio spread around Australia, which has afforded me the opportunity to fully exit the rat race last year.

The capital growth averaging (CGA) strategy I deployed utilises a regular purchasing cycle similar to what dollar cost averaging is to the share market. The major underlying principle to its success relies upon your "time in" the market, not "timing" the market and revolves around the purchase of townhouses and villa’s.

As such the idea is to purchase good quality, well located property in high density areas (metro area capital cities), at or below fair market value, as fast as we could reasonably afford and then hold them long term in order to realise the compounding CG across the portfolio.

We chose to purchasing near new property over older style for the following reasons, in no particular order:

• To maximise non-cash depreciation deductions
    • To minimise maintenance & repair costs
    • More modern & attractive to tenants, thereby minimising potential vacancy rate
    • Attract higher rent, thereby maximising yields