Hi from Sydney!

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by sprakk, 1st Oct, 2016.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. sprakk

sprakk New Member

Hi everyone.

Over the years I have been thinking about investing in property, and recently been more serious about the topic. I've been reading over past threads in this forum and I'd really like to say thank you to all the contributors, it really is a plethora of information covering a large number of topics.

When it comes to investing, I am a complete amateur, or less than that. I've never really stepped out of my comfort zone, and hoping now that I'm getting a bit older, I'd like to see what's possible for my family and I.

Some background information...
    • I'm 29, wife is 30. We have a 2 year old son and live in Western Sydney.
    • Own our own house with a hefty mortgage of just shy of $600k, on a property that according to the website "onthehouse", is valued around $830k (says "high accuracy" - for whatever it's worth).
    • I earn approximately $140k before tax, and my wife earns approximately $65k before tax.
    • Have two personal loans for two different cars, of about $35k and $20k, which are being paid off over the next 3-4 years.
    • Not much in the bank in terms of liquid assets, around $10k as most of our excess goes into paying off the higher interest rate loans on the cars.
    Reading through the many threads I've come to learn a few things about using equity in your principal place of residence, and other investment properties for purchasing other properties with as little as 5% deposit. Seeing this, it has piqued my interest and I would like to either purchase a smaller 2 bedroom unit in the West of Sydney as far as Penrith for around $350k, or if possible a 3 bedroom house around the outskirts of Brisbane for around 400k. However, I don't know how feasible it is given my current situation.