Hi - Aussie interested in bargain Spanish property

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by aussiemillion, 4th Oct, 2016.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. aussiemillion

aussiemillion Member

Hi!
    My Aus property is on the market and I'm looking to pick up an affordable property in Spain.
    I'm not sure what forum is most appropriate to ask forum members what their experience has been like buying in Spain.
    So I'm doubling up my hi I'm a newbie thread with asking the question on where I should post this question :)

2. 158

158 Well-Known Member

@Casteller is in Spain and would have some knowledge.

pinkboy

aussiemillion likes this.
  3. Casteller

Casteller Well-Known Member

Spanish market is very different to Oz market. I have bought two properties here, one is down, one is up. A summary of major differences to Australia:
    * No access to historical sales prices. This info is private.
    * Very low interest rates, 1.75%, much more readily available now than in the peak of the crisis.
    * No property expense deductions if you are not EU resident. You are taxed 25% on the gross income, not even interest expenses are deductible, so if you need a loan and are not EU resident it is a pretty rubbish investment (The British kicked themselves big time with Brexit in this respect, I suspect a lot of them don´t even know this but they will soon enough...).
    * Very high transaction costs, about 13% (stamp duty 10%). You can do some of the conveyancing yourself, I did, else it would have cost over $2500 euro.
    * Fantastic tax deduction of 60% of net income for Spanish residents (at the moment, these concessions get changed every year), so this is great for me, not available to non-residents.
    * You need a NIE, pain to get, bureaucracy.
    * Prices are much cheaper in the south than in Barcelona where I am.