Hi all! Newbie here.

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by herenow, 16th Aug, 2015.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. herenow

herenow Well-Known Member

Came across this forum recently, have been lurking for a while and thought I'd jump on in!

Living in Adelaide, have a couple IPs locally, largely acquired through circumstances rather than a defined strategy, now looking to invest again and putting a put of a plan in place.

Met recently with a local mortgage broker to get an idea of borrowing capacity which was a waste of time as they weren't (or didn't seem to be) familiar with investment strategies and loan structures. Lesson there for us though to better screen the people we talk to.

Looking forward to being part of the community.

Cheers

2. Brian84

Brian84 Well-Known Member

Welcome aboard. Good luck with your journey

herenow likes this.
  3. Azazel

Azazel Well-Known Member

Hey @herenow , good to see you.
    Where abouts are you looking to buy your next IP?

4. Rixter

Rixter Well-Known Member

Portfolio Perth Brisbane Sydney Melbourne
    What and where to buy is dependent upon your chosen investment strategy.

You see property is merely the vehicle. The strategy is how you intend driving that vehicle.

Unfortunately the mistake I see newbies and sometimes not so newbies is that they are property focused instead of strategy focused which is like putting the cart before the horse.

Property investing is not about property rather about the strategy and the way you intend to use the vehicle to get to where you are wanting to go. No good buying a small shopping car if you intend driving interstate on a family holiday.

What strategy/s are best for you is determined by where you are wanting to go, the time frame you want to get there in and how hands on along the way you want to be - all based around your personal risk profile.

I hope this provides some food for thought.