Hey there!

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by Vanillascent, 5th Jul, 2015.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Vanillascent

Vanillascent Well-Known Member

Hi everyone,

I don't think I ever did one of these introductions on the Somersoft forums so it's about time I do one now.

My name's Benita and I am Brisbane based. I am 26 years old and I am fairly new in the investment arena. I have one property so far which I purchased in 2014. I am looking to expand in the near future. My current expansion plan is based on a buy and hold model with some cosmetic renovations along the way.

I am a lawyer and accountant by qualification. I had a brief stint at working in the corporate sector as both before finding myself working as an accountant in a $25 million dollar turnover wholesale company where I am now a director.

While I don't work directly in tax accounting or as a corporate/tax lawyer, I have always been fascinated with corporate law and taxation.

I've always had a great interest in property. Even when I was in high school I would find myself on realestate.com.au when I was meant to be doing homework.

All of the threads on Somersoft and now on Propertychat have always been interesting for me as a tax/law nerd. I feel at home with these topics and it's great to know that I'm learning daily from knowledgeable and respectable like-minded individuals.

My goal through investment is to to keep it as a hobby - it will never be a job for me because I think as soon as it was to become my day-to-day and I was dependent on it, I would lose my sense of enjoyment out of it. Ultimately, I would like to own enough properties that I can retire comfortably (and early) and travel. I don't have a particular monetary portfolio value or number of properties as a goal - why limit myself?!

I'm looking forward to this new forum and the great discussions I'm sure we will have here.

Kind regards,
    Benita

Perp likes this.