Help trying to finance an owner builder loan

Discussion in 'Loans & Mortgage Brokers' started by 92dyl, 6th Oct, 2018.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. 92dyl

92dyl Member

Hi PC, I need some advice regarding owner builder loans and i thought A few here might have some ideas for us to look at.

Me and my wife originally sat down with a broker from rams regarding our plans with our ppor and that we wanted to owner build as I am a carpenter. They said fine we can do it sonwe went out spent all the cash needed to get plans drawn up and submitted to council.

Right now they are due to come out of council very soon, however rams have come back and said they cannot do anything for us now.

A few details of our situation and plans:
    - 300k mortgage with rams
    - home valued at 425k
    - we wanted to get a construction loan of 200k to extend and renovate our home
    - structural renovation, extending frontwards, sideways and to the rear.
    - i am a carpenter by trade, currently working full time as a foreman now for a large building company.
    - i have all the qualifications to get my builders license myself, however i need another 3 months more experience. So we wanted to owner build.

The only drama we are experiencing is the owner builder aspect. The area, plans, our income, etc is fine.

2. Shahin_Afarin

Shahin_Afarin Residential and Commercial Broker Business Member

Do you have a company entity which you are the director of and can do a fixed building contract between the company doing the construction and you the individual?

We have a lot of owner builders who have the above scenario and there are a couple of lenders that have this niche where they will treat it as a normal app (including RAMS mind you).

Ethan Timor and 92dyl like this.
  3. 92dyl

92dyl Member

Yes i do have a company entity set up still. Only problem is the company hold a carpentry license and not a builder license.