Help on trust or no trust

Discussion in 'Accounting & Tax' started by Stiles, 28th Sep, 2016.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
Tags:
  1. Stiles

Stiles New Member

Hi,

Newbie here. Planning to buy first IP in 6 months time and maybe another in 2 years time...

Planning to give these IP to my two kids..

down the track planning to buy PPOR after say 5 -6 years..

Do i need to start trust to buy IP and to transfer kids say after 20 years...without capital gains tax...

Or is it better to buy in my or spouse name and later transfer to kids...

can you please advise..?
    Thanks.

2. Terry_w

Terry_w Lawyer, Tax Adviser and Mortgage broker in Sydney Business Member

Why do you want to give to your kids?

If a trustee transfers title to the kids stamp duty would apply.

If you pass control it may not. But there would be no main residence CGT exempt for them and no land tax exemption in some states.

I would start off by learning as much as you can about holding property in a trust and then seek legal advice.

Stiles and Paul@PAS like this.
  3. Peter_Tersteeg

Peter_Tersteeg Mortgage Broker Business Member

Whoever's name the IP is in (you or your wife), you'll need to pay capital gains tax and stamp duty when it's transferred to the kids. If your wife is on a lower income there may be a small advantage, but that's possibly offset by the lower gearing benefits whilst you own the property.

If the property is owned by a trust, you don't need to transfer it later so there's no CGT or transfer event. You simply give the kids control of the trust. For this reason a trust can be a useful part of succession planning. In the meantime however, owning property in a trust is costly.

The really successful investors I see don't give their kids a property. Instead they give them an education and a role model. Their kids will likely still inherit the properties when the parents die, but they'll probably already own several themselves.