Help Needed - Vacant Block

Discussion in 'Loans & Mortgage Brokers' started by AndyH, 26th Jan, 2018.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. AndyH

AndyH New Member

Hi Guys,
    I am a newbie and hoping I can get some assistance.

I have been conditionally approved to buy a block of Land in Cranbourne East subject to valuation of the block and there is a shortage of titled blocks in the south east ready to build on.

The lender has appointed a valuation company to do the valuation and it has come back short.

The block purchase price is $345,000 and they are trying to tell us the block is only worth $300,000 (good luck finding a titled block for $300,000 in Melbourne that is flat and not under power lines)

The 6 blocks around me have sold and settled and my price is bang smack in the middle of the range.
    -$330,000
    -$330,000
    -$350,000
    -$355,000
    -$355,000
    -$360,000

Apparently the Valuer has had issues finding comparable sales and has used a block of land that sold in Clyde North in August 2018 which I have a feeling was not titled that was sold for $300,000/ $310,000.

We have provided a letter for the real estate agent confirming the above sale/ settlement prices and dates (All settlements in Dec 2017 and Jan 2018) and submitted this to the lender.

Any advice would be great.

Kind regards,

Andrew

2. tobe

tobe Well-Known Member

Get a build contract. Valuing as house and land together usually provides better results.

Then get a couple of vals done. With deferent lenders thru your broker. Or walk from bank to bank and fry your credit score.

Don’t waste time trying to get this valuer to change their mind. They can’t use developer sales as evidence, only resale blocks, and they all get sold cheap due to death divorce or debank.

Seriously, get a build contract. It manages a lot of other risks too.

Ethan Timor likes this.
  3. tobe

tobe Well-Known Member