Help me understand the concept of "cutting off" someone on the road

Discussion in 'Living Room' started by jaybean, 2nd May, 2021.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
Tags:
  1. jaybean

jaybean Well-Known Member

I've been driving for over 20+ years and for the life of me I don't get the concept.

Mind you, when it comes to normal queues I am extremely touchy. If someone cuts in line while at the shops or takes my parking spot, sparks will fly. Even if I see someone cutting in line behind me and it doesn't even affect me...I still struggle to hold my tongue.

But when I'm driving...in my 20 years I have yet to actually see an example that I can point to and say "yes, that's what it means to cut me off". I simply don't get it.

Is it when someone overtakes you? If they're roughly around the max limit, who ****** cares?

Does it mean someone overtaking you then going considerably slower than the max limit? This is pretty rare IMO.

Or you're stuck in a traffic jam and someone sneaks in front of you? In my experience it adds s--t all to your overall travel time. A few seconds per car, even when it's all jammed up. Oh big freaking whoop. This isn't even in the same ballpark as someone sneaking in front of you while waiting at a restaurant for example. Not even the same universe. I mean this is probably the most annoying one I can think of, but it's not even horn-worthy 99% of the time.

What exactly is this thing that people have been known to literally kill each other over? Every time I hear friends complaining about it I just nod my head, too afraid to ask them what they're even talking about. Help me understand why I should be upset.

Last edited: 2nd May, 2021
    samiam and thatbum like this.
  2. Lizzie

Lizzie Well-Known Member

It's when they shove in front of you - forcing you to either swerve or slam on the brakes to prevent an accident.