Hello. I'm new and in need of advice.

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by Kate406, 23rd Jan, 2016.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Kate406

Kate406 Member

Hi everyone,

My situation is: I'm 24 living in Melbourne, inheriting a property when I turn 25 with a value around $850k. I would like to set up my 'dream team', and get 100% clear on how much I can safely borrow as I'd like to buy two properties, one as an IP and one for me to live in (though renting out the other rooms so it still provides an income for the mortgage). Eventually, I'd like to turn this into a bigger portfolio, but this is my short term plan.

I work in the entertainment industry, so my employment is not consistent and on average I earn about $35- 40K a year. I am half way through a course at Tafe, and am living at home until I can buy my own place.

I've been reading wealth creation, and property investing books, doing my own maths on what I can do and reading this forum has been very interesting.

I am in the market for a great accountant and mortgage broker, so any recommendations would be very welcome :)

Thank you for your time,
    Kate.

2. Jamie Moore

Jamie Moore MORTGAGE BROKER - AUSTRALIA WIDE Business Member

Hi Kate

Welcome aboard.

An owner occ might not be feasible at present given your current level of income - it may also prohibit you from purchasing IPs.

I assume you're looking to leverage the equity in the property you're inheriting in order to purchase more?

Cheers

Jamie

Taku Ekanayake likes this.
  3. Rolf Latham

Rolf Latham Inciteful (sic) Staff Member Business Plus Member

Hi Kate

Welcome

You are right, you will need some careful planning with that income to equity "mismatch"

Plenty of great brokers here in Vic that can help you through that in a structured manner

ta
    rolf

Sackie and Property Twins like this.
  4. Kate406

Kate406 Member

Hi Jamie,
    Thank you!