Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community

Hello from Syd newbie

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by JimmySyd, 2nd Feb, 2016.

1. JimmySyd

JimmySyd Member

Hi guys,

I'm a newbie from the northwest of Sydney. I come from an ethnic family where the mantra has always been - study hard, work hard, buy property - but have only recently started looking at property at more than a passive asset class. This forum and Somersoft have been an invaluable resource and I'd like to thank all the members.

I bought my PPOR 3 years ago - a 2 bed unit in Rhodes. I managed to get into Rhodes before the boom so have seen a bit of CG the last 2 years. Fortunately, I also have a job that pays fairly well so have managed to pay off a good chunk of the mortgage.

I also just managed to pick up my 1st IP in Strathfield recently, another 2 bed unit for what I think is a bargain (but guess time will tell). Tenant just moved in last Saturday and it's CF neutral after tax back.

I've still got a decent chunk of equity left in my PPOR so the goal for the next 12 months is to pick up 2 more IP's - I'm currently looking at the area between Parramatta and Strathfield. I know Syd prices have run hard but having followed the area for a while, I'm still finding 3 bedders in places like Auburn that comes close to CF neutral after tax.

Decided now's the time to stop lurking and start being a member of this community as I start to embark on my property journey. Would appreciate help where I can find it. =)

Cheers guys,
    Jimmy

Gockie and MsAli like this.
  2. Jacque

Jacque Buyers Agent and Bookworm, Sydney Business Member

Good on you @JimmySyd always nice to have lurkers post and join in the conversation :)

3. Steven Ryan

Steven Ryan Mortgage Broker Business Plus Member

Welcome @JimmySyd. Good work on knocking down that PPOR loan so fast.