Education & Work Height Adjustable Desks

Discussion in 'Living Room' started by Simon Hampel, 4th Sep, 2015.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Simon Hampel

Simon Hampel Founder Staff Member

Following from my comments in this thread, I thought I would post about the height adjustable desk I've been using for nearly 18 months now.

I spent quite a long time researching desks and investigating the differences between all the different models. I found that lifting capacity varies greatly, as does the smoothness and quietness of the lifting mechanism and the type of controller available.

I think a height adjustable desk is more important than a fixed standing desk - since it gives you the flexibility of working standing or sitting, depending on the task and how you are feeling. After having the flu recently - I can assure you that working standing up is really difficult when you have no energy!

Since I would be having up to 3 large monitors plus multiple laptops and other peripherals on my desk, I needed something with a large lifting capacity. It needed to be quick and quiet and I wanted a controller with memory settings so I could easily change to a preset height.

I did look at importing a desk frame from overseas and sourcing a desktop for it locally, but this seemed like a lot of effort for not much saving overall, and I wasn't convinced that the desk frames I was looking at (GeekDesk, etc) were the best option.

So I ended up buying local – I got the Ergomotion Motiondesk DL11.

It was expensive, but I am very very happy with this purchase – the desk is excellent and is everything I was hoping for.

Guy Topolansky from Ergomotion was excellent to deal with – very patiently and helpfully answered all of my questions about the desk and all of the extra bits that go with it.