Has the game changed?

Discussion in 'Loans & Mortgage Brokers' started by JesseT, 16th Nov, 2017.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. JesseT

JesseT Well-Known Member

I have been thinking recently about my own goals moving forward with property investing, I believe the majority of your success through property investing is dependant on you own finance structure.

When I started learning (4 years ago) the basic principles were fairly common.

Acquisition stage-
    Borrow highest LVR possible, pay LMI, interest only loans, utilize offsets, when equity allows, rinse and repeat, using multiple lenders as required, capital growth properties.

To move forward in acquisition stage these days the same principles won’t get you very far, this left me wondering if these basic principles for people like myself starting out no longer apply.

To move forward now I think I personally would be much more successful with 20% deposits, P+I, high yielding property, possibly across 1 major lender, focusing on compounding debt reduction.
    Potentially purchasing again when finance allows.
    Almost sounds like the inclusion of consolidation stage into acquisition stage?

Are brokers finding that to move forward post APRA, investors are heading towards multiple loans with one lender with a competitive P+I rate?

Is this going to be the fastest way to accumulate property post APRA?

Invest_noob likes this.
  2. MTR

MTR Well-Known Member

My understanding from my MB is that investors are now out of the market, in the main they are just accessing equity, those that can.

MTR:)

Kangabanga likes this.
  3. Jess Peletier

Jess Peletier Mortgage Broker & Finance Strategy, Aus Wide! Business Member

I still recommend using LMI to move forward more quickly, but much more P&I these days.

It depends a lot on the investor though and what their goals and plans are.

4. Jess Peletier