Hairline cracks on floor tiles

Discussion in 'Repairs & Maintenance' started by Isa12, 23rd May, 2020.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Isa12

Isa12 Member

Hello Everyone

I am a newbie to the forum, forgive me if this has been already answered.

I am a tenant planning to vaccate my apartment and was doing some cleaning.
    While cleaning the balcony floor I have noticed there are two very thin hairline cracks in two tiles.

There is a drain in balcony and marks originate from the edges of the cutout made for the drain. The cutout is in the middle of two tiles.

I have not dropped anything or did anything to damaged it. There is a table placed in that area but it is really long never touches this drain cutout.

It happened on its own. It looks to be on surface level and tile is still intact, inplace and solid

Is this normal wear and tear or is the REA going to blame for this and deduct from bond ?.

Thanks!!!

2. wylie

wylie Moderator Staff Member

Sounds like movement in the building and normal wear and tear. No way should you be asked to pay for this.

3. bunkai

bunkai Well-Known Member

Photo ?

4. Isa12

Isa12 Member

Thanks wylie.. should I report this to REA or let them sort it out ?

5. Isa12

Isa12 Member

Attached Files:

6. wylie

I wouldn't say anything. It may well have been there when you moved in, and even if it wasn't, I'd be lodging to get your bond back before they try anything on.

The Y-man likes this.
  7. Isa12

Isa12 Member

Thanks again wylie.. I was under such agony over this. I will just go ahead lodge to get bond back !.

8. The Y-man

The Y-man Moderator Staff Member

No way in heck I'd try recovery from a tenant on something like that (and I don't think my agents would either).

The Y-man

9. Isa12

Isa12 Member