Business Technology Gsuite or Office365?

Discussion in 'Starting & Running a Business' started by hammer, 4th Jun, 2019.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. hammer

hammer Well-Known Member

My side hustle is growing and it's now at the stage where it's worth signing up to one of these services...

Doc compatibility isn't a huge issue but I do need to start bringing other contractors and maybe even employees into the fold.

Online storage is important.

Any suggestions?

2. Simon Hampel

Simon Hampel Founder Staff Member

If you are a heavy MS Office user, you may find Office365 more to your liking.

Personally, I have been using G Suite to run my business for quite a few years now (I don't own any recent MS Office licenses - use LibreOffice for the occasional compatibility requirements).

Prices have recently gone up, so not as good value as it used to be - but I'm still more than happy with G Suite.

3. qak

qak Well-Known Member

SaveonIT has Office 365 Business Premium for $189/year - business plan, TB storage
    GSuite Business pricing seems to be $201.60/year (monthly - maybe an annual plan works out cheaper?) - business plan, unlimited storage.

I'm only familiar with MS Office products, and have some compatibility issues (with other software I use), so that choice was easy for me.

I would be thinking about - what have you actually used or are you familiar with? What about other potential users - employees/contractors?
    Do you have time to learn new products?
    What components do you actually need to use?

4. geoffw

geoffw Moderator Staff Member

I use both. I like G Suite for easy sharing and collaboration, but there are limitations on the capacity and some of the functions in sheets. These probably wouldn't affect 95% of users.

The default storage in the free version of Google is 15GB, but apparently Docs and Sheets aren't counted. This article shows what things are included: