Granny Flat or Investment Property

Discussion in 'Investment Strategy' started by YLN, 28th Jun, 2021.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
?

What would be your next investment GF or IP?

1. Granny Flat

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  2. Investment Property

100.0%
  1. YLN

YLN Active Member

Hi,

My fiancé and I have been renting out our property for the past 6 months and plan to move into it once we get married.

Because of the tax perks of having renters we’re trying to determine what our next step should be, we have enough money saved to build a granny flat or invest in an investment property but conflicted about what direction to take.

happy to be paying someone for this service but not sure even which profession is the best to approach for this advice.

I’ve read mixed opinions on Granny Flats and also that it may mean we would be up for CGT if ever selling the PPOR (once we move in) but also I’ve wondered if it made more sense not grouping the investments on a single patch of land.

Apologies if I’m being vague or anything happy to clarify anything if required.

2. thatbum

thatbum Well-Known Member

What would be the advantage of a GF here? I can't see many. It's cheaper I guess? But you might not even get that money back in value.

3. Branden

Branden Well-Known Member Business Member

Hi there,

Glad to hear you are thinking ahead. You have a couple options to choose from but your decision will likely be determined by your goal.

A GF would be a good option for cash-flow as you could use the additional income to offset your mortgage repayments on your PPOR. However, if you purchase an IP you will have the opportunity for both cash flow and capital growth. In terms of weath creation, purchasing an IP will likely put you in a better position in the long run. That is because capital growth in most cases generates a greater return than the rental income of a property.