Sports & Fitness Golfers..

Discussion in 'Living Room' started by Bayview, 22nd Jun, 2015.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Bayview

Bayview Well-Known Member

Hi Boys and Girls,

As some may know (from over at SS) I used to be a Golf Pro in my previous life...30 years in the industry as a PGA Member, Teacher, Coach and professional player.

I would love to talk anything golf with the forumites, and am offering my services as a sort of online golf doctor and advisor if I can, and if anyone wants it.

Redwing, EN710, MJS1034 and 1 other person like this.
  2. Ace in the Hole

Ace in the Hole Well-Known Member

Hi Bayview,

So many questions...
    I'm not getting much loft on my shorter clubs compared to what I see others getting.
    Especially short pitches.
    What can I do to improve this?

3. Bayview

First, what loft do you have on your pitching wedge and sand wedge?

Traditional PW loft is 52 degrees. Many of the modern clubs are "ego boosters" - PW at 48 degrees, then they have another one in between that and the SW - called a "gap wedge".

Next; what position in your stance do you try to play the ball? Many folks play the ball waay too far back towards the back foot...unless the lie is really terrible, play all pitch shots from about the middle of your stance - this is far enough back.

Next; your swing action may be a factor - a pitching swing is no different to a normal full swing. It is a smaller and softer version of the full swing.

Here's a simple exercise to test what you do through the swing - and if it feels weird it will tell you that your swing action is not quite correct...

Using any club - and no golf ball - make swings back and forth, but stop the club head at approx hip-height in the backswing and the same in the followthrough. The speed of theses swings should also be slow enough to see and feel the clubhead.