Getting a home loan- self employed

Discussion in 'Loans & Mortgage Brokers' started by Paul Luck, 27th Oct, 2017.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Paul Luck

Paul Luck Active Member

From my quick search it appears lenders want 2 years of tax returns as proof of business income.
    I am in my first year of business, is there zero chance of me getting approved? What about after 1 year tax return? The business I am in is not related to my previous employment. I could easily prove income via my business bank account deposits. Any options or am I stuck for another 2 years?

The loan in question would be for a PPOR and only be approx $150k on a house valued $550K, very easily servicable. My 2nd question- do these types of loans generally have higher interest rates and/or tighter borrowing capacity rules. I hear LMI is applicable at lower LVR's.

Thanks.

2. Jess Peletier

Jess Peletier Mortgage Broker & Finance Strategy, Aus Wide! Business Member

How long has your abn been registered? Do you have Bas?

You can go the accountants declaration, rates will be higher than normal but you can just refi after a year or 2 and you’re all good.

Ethan Timor and adam duckworth like this.
  3. Redom

Redom Mortgage Broker Business Plus Member

If ABN is registered for 2 years plus - should be OK to use latest year with a few larger funders.

If not, what is your profession? You may be able to get an exception from a lender and use one year ABN. Alternatively there’s a few lenders who will accept 1 year ABN. Go there and then refi back out to a better longer term option the following year. On your loan size and LVR moving options should be simpler, so a shorter term solution is OK.

4. DaveM

DaveM Well-Known Member

RAMS low doc with accountants declaration probably a good starting point

5. Rolf Latham

Rolf Latham Inciteful (sic) Staff Member Business Plus Member

Non conforminglenders mainly with one year ABN and matching tax rtns.