G'day from sunny Qatar....

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by Songo, 8th Aug, 2015.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Songo

Songo Well-Known Member

.....and very hot and humid too at the moment!

I'm a research scientist by profession and I work in a sport medicince hospital in Doha, Qatar, which is 'just across the ditch' from Dubai. The city here is still about 10yrs behind Dubai, lots of development and construction and of course all eyes towards the world cup in 2022.

I've only been here a year but plan to stay another 4-6 yr. Now that I'm settled in, and esp because the AUD has fallen considerably whilst some volatiliy remains on international markets, I'm viewing Australian property as a strong investment option. As an o/s expat I'll probably be looking for advice, particularly from other expats, but also anyone that purchases remotely (eg: out of state).

2. Songo

Songo Well-Known Member

.....oh username is a latin percussion rhythm. I play congas for fun in my spare time :)

(sorry neighbours)

3. Steven Ryan

Steven Ryan Well-Known Member

Welcome aboard @Songo. How do you you find the lifestyle in Qatar? :)

Have you started looking into where and what you might purchase as an investment, or not at that stage yet? If so, what are the plans–buy and hold, renovate, develop etc?

4. Songo

Songo Well-Known Member

Qatar has its ups and downs! Good expat community of interesting people, close to europe etc, but sometimes I just want to walk down the road and have a beer sitting under a tree in a nice beer garden.... no can do :-(