Freestanding unit (villa?) vs house for our PPOR

Discussion in 'What to buy' started by martiancrater, 29th Mar, 2022.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. martiancrater

martiancrater Well-Known Member

Hi everyone, I'm a newbie from Melbourne, and fairly new to the property market too.

My partner and I are both in our late 20s, and got our first PPOR 5 years ago (a small flat), and now upgrading to a bigger place with a bit of land. We don't plan to have kids, so we don't actually need anything more than a small 2-bedroom home.

However, we can't seem to decide between getting a freestanding unit (I think they're called villas?), or pay a bit more for a house with more land in the same area.

The unit would be cheaper, and in terms of lifestyle we don't need a big place. But on the other hand, would a bigger house with more land have better capital growth? Although I'm not sure how we'd make use of that growth if it's a PPOR, other than being able to use more of the equity, or sell/downgrade when we retire?

Thanks in advance for any advice - we're quite new to property so sometimes it feels like we're wandering around blindly!

2. Marg4000

Marg4000 Well-Known Member

You will do much better in the long run with a house on your own block of land.

No issues with body corporate or other restrictions on what you can and cannot do.

And get 3 bedrooms if you can for much better resale appeal and value.

3. The Y-man

The Y-man Moderator Staff Member

Whereabouts? Is there a big diff in the prices?

The Y-man

4. The Y-man

Yeah, we call them units here, but people up north will get all confused, because they call apartments units.... :D

The Y-man

5. martiancrater

In terms of resale value, do you reckon there would be a significant difference between a freestanding unit with its own backyard, and a house? (assuming the land area is similar)