Foreign Income for Mortgage loan

Discussion in 'Loans & Mortgage Brokers' started by pichoo, 24th Mar, 2020.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. pichoo

pichoo Member

I'm doing online business and receive foreign income. I'm an Australian citizen and a resident for tax purposes. I've an ABN and my business is in Australia. I pay US tax as well as Australian tax. I'm currently buying an investment property, however my mortgage broker spoke to the big 4 banks and apparently he came to conclusion that the banks don't accept foreign income. (They might deem it as less stable).

I was wondering if anyone had the same experience? Do the big 4 banks really don't accept foreign income for property loan, even if I'm a resident for tax purposes? My broker suggested me to use another financial company, however the interest loan is slightly higher (about 1% higher) and I would need to pay 1% fee of the total loan.

2. Terry_w

Terry_w Lawyer, Tax Adviser and Mortgage broker in Sydney Business Member

The big 4 accept foreign income in US$

3. lettert

lettert Well-Known Member

My experience has been that big 4 will not give loan on foreign income, try Citi they have in the past for usd income
    Who did your broker suggest?

4. pichoo

pichoo Member

Thanks guys. Why would they need to see it in USD? The income is already in AUD, which they can see from the bank statements and tax return. My broker suggested Latrobe.

5. Terry_w

I guess the problem might be proving the income in that case. AUD should be fine - this is Australia after all!

Are you declaring the money here and do you have 2 years tax returns?

6. lettert

Hmm ok
    Tbh I’m not sure about the need to see it in usd
    Or Aud but have found Citi tend to be ok with foreign income but not big 4 or even tier 2 in recent days
    This is with 2+ years of income, Citi rates are not that much worse either

7. pichoo

pichoo Member