VIC Footscray?

Discussion in 'Where to Buy' started by ATANG, 3rd Nov, 2015.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. ATANG

ATANG Well-Known Member

Want to hear what local says about the suburb. Has it transformed to more established family oriented place or is it still "dodgy" as some of my Melbourne friends said?

How about surrounding like West Footscray, Maidstone, Yarraville?

2. Esel

Esel Well-Known Member

Im no property expert but i know people who live there.

I think footscray will stay edgy for a long time but its definitely gentrifying and appeals to the sort of demographic priced out of the inner north. I think id rather live there than coburg and prices in coburg have gone nuts.

Families who want a safe, vanilla, white bread type of suburb will look further out. i know a few very hip, left leaning, educated, professional types who have bought there (they didnt rent there though). They are excited about the beer gardens, food trucks, bars and cafes existing and in the pipeline.

Some suburbs have dodgy parts but are expensive (north melb, collingwood, brunswick, richmond) so i think it looks good value for its proximity to CBD. It also has lots of period homes that will renovate nicely and has excellent transport links.

I dont know much about the others, except that yarraville is a lovely established family suburb. There are some eccellent primary schools but no decent local high school.

jchw38 and ATANG like this.
  3. bernardblack

bernardblack Active Member

IMO Footscray is still dodgy but definitely gentrifying. I volunteered at Lentil As Anything and heard stories about drug addicts taking drugs in their toilet and had to shut it.
    But I also see hipster restaurants like 8bit & Milking Station running in Footscray.