WA First Timer Terminator of Tenancy

Discussion in 'Property Management' started by Frank Frick, 20th Oct, 2021.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Frank Frick

Frank Frick Member

Hello.

I would like to get this egg-and-spoon journey over the stepping stones across the river to a vacated rental going, step by step. It's doable, but I have no experience.

Context:
    ~> NRAS Villa rent is set 20% below *previous year*'s market rent
    ~> at odds with upward movement of actual live rental market, NRAS rent was discounted an additional 10% from 1 May 2021 (by NRAS valuation made 12 months previously),
    ~> Market rents have risen 20% in 2021.
    ~> NRAS scheme on this property completes 23 Feb 2022.
    ~> I'll then need to rent it on the open market, or sell it.

Tenant:
    ~> 50-ish male lives solo in 3brm NRAS Villa.
    ~> carried on living there after his wife and teen daughter left him in Oct 2019
    ~> rent defaulted to monthly Oct 2020
    ~> Pays rent reasonably, inattentive to cleanliness but no biggie
    ~> heavy smoker inside breaching the lease conditions (and smoke tar damage is well-established)
    ~> been a maintenance pest (i.e. times when nothing was wrong).
    ~> in addition to getting a rent decrease from 1 May 2021, he contrived a claim for 6-month's rent-free rent compensation: depression and anxiety caused by "water in the walls", and water on the electricity in the roof space. (There was a ridge-cap water drip, which started a ceiling stain, which gradually grew to 12cm x 4cm, and the shower cubicle needed re-grouting, which was already done professionally and in his presence 10 months before he issued the writ).
    ~> accepted pre-hearing settlement $500 today... in the lobby of the court house.
    ~> has not yet submitted his income details as required to prove ongoing eligibility to be an NRAS tenant. If he is not, then my tax rebate incentive stops.

Me: