First Time Poster - Advice on my Current Situation

Discussion in 'Investment Strategy' started by tomtomtom, 24th Nov, 2019.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. tomtomtom

tomtomtom Member

Hi All,

Firstly i'd like to introduce myself to you all on this forum, my name is tom and i currently live in melbourne in the upper north suburbs near broadmeadows with my parents.

I thought i'd make a post as i am new to the property market and need some advice with current situation on the best way to move forward with property.

My situation:
    1. 32 years old - no property at all
    2. 60k savings
    3. looking to buy a PPOR to save on stamp duty
    4. budget anything less than 550k in VIC
    5. reason why i didn't purchase property years ago (when i had more than 60k) was because i decided to invest into the stock market (did well in the beginning but then lost everything) - had to restart 2 years ago, had a mental breakdown because of it and thought about suicide. long story short, i got out of my rut and pulled up my socks with the help of family, friends and psychologists and have been saving since.
    6. i dont think i can buy an investment property now as i dont have 20% deposit and given my age, i believe that option is out of the equation until a later stage i guess?

I feel like i should be moving out now as im 32 now and need to 'grow up' and fend for myself. given the circumstances over the last few years, it has limited my choices/options in property as i don't have alot of money now so am seeking the advice and information on how i should tackle the property market.
    considering the above what do you experienced fellow property chatters recommend?

i was thinking of buying a place in jacana along the eastern corridor of the 'burb as it isn't hilly and has close access to pascoe vale road, freeway, train station and shopping centre however am considering other areas.