First Purchase. Active strategy advice

Discussion in 'Investment Strategy' started by DJS, 6th Jun, 2019.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. DJS

DJS Member

Hi all

Long time lurker finally in a position for our first purchase and seeking a bit of guidance. Pre-approval has just come in, we have a broad idea but never hurts to bounce off others who have gone before. A thankyou in advance - I trawl this forum regularly and its a phenomenal resource.

Background
    - My background is in tier 1 architecture/construction, PM, now a developer in the commercial space (CBD towers). I've also project managed a few mid-scale reno's for others as a side gig when time permits and love getting my hands dirty. I've renovated half our rental house just for fun (needless to say, the landlord loves us).
    - Partner is an architect, plus many of our friends (handy!)
    - Brother 1 is an engineer (also handy!)
    - Brother 2 is a town planner (tick!)
    - Best mate is a planner/property lawyer (double tick!) with connections to anyone else we may need.
    - Big complement of friends and professional contacts in design, construction, shopfitting and the like.
    - We're in Melbourne.

We have taken our time to build up a decent capital buffer so when we (finally) get started, we can take on an active strategy.

Intentions (for comment)
    - House purchase possibly inner west to either renovate, subdivide or develop (subject to what finances will allow, possibly all three, staged)

- Live there for 12months (stamp duty savings requirement) then move back to Port Melbourne which is home (we will maintain the lease at our current place - it costs us next to nothing anyhow). Absolutely no intent leaving Port permanently at this stage. Lifestyle choice.