First Property Investment - Granny Flat Upside or Equity?

Discussion in 'Investment Strategy' started by PRD_85, 8th Jan, 2018.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. PRD_85

PRD_85 Well-Known Member

Hi all,
    I am very new to the Property Chat forums but every time I login, I instantly feel at ease because I have already received tremendous advice in the 2 days I have had an account.

Because of that - I have a pressing matter that needs insightful responses somewhat urgently because my money is sitting with a BA and I don't know if I am doing the right thing.
    This is my situation:

I am currently in my 2nd year of work as a commercial real estate agent working full time and also attending University. My goal is to aggressively acquire as many properties over the next 10-15 years as I can.

My earnings as a commercial agent are as follows: $50K base salary + commission. I also have $85K in savings but I have opted to use a BA to make my first acquisition in Queensland because I don't yet have the knowledge to enter the market, but want to make an acquisition. Now, the BA has recommended I buy a property with granny flat upside, and then build the granny flat in the next 12 months to increase my income, and therefore my serviceability. However, after having thought about it over and over and over and over again in my head, I feel as if the strategy should be to buy properties which are going to allow me to manufacture equity - ESPECIALLY since it's my first purchase. I am very inexperienced (this is my first acquisition), so I don't know if I have it completely wrong, or the BA is leading me astray to ensure an easy acquisition (and $10k fee) knowing that I am inexperienced. I am not a cynic, but I am naturally a sceptical person.

So my query is: Would your advice be to follow the BA's advice and buy a property with granny flat upside and then build the granny flat within 12 months to increase your income

OR