First IP - How much to spend?

Discussion in 'Investment Strategy' started by jprops, 25th Jan, 2016.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. jprops

jprops Well-Known Member

Hi,

I've been loitering this forum for a few months and this is my first question.

We are looking to invest in the Brisbane this year. I'm thinking to get the best block of land as close to the CBD as possible.

We have a houshold income of 220k before tax and currently have 170k in savings that we need to get out of our "High (read as low) Interest Savings Account" into an investment. We'd like to buy our PPOR in around 4-5 years time as our daughter starts school.

At this stage my strategy is to buy something in the 600 - 700 k price range, looking for Capital Growth, and borrow at 88% LVR using some of the remaining cash for light reno to add value and increase rental yield.

As I'm a first timer here, I'm not totally confident of this plan, but I think it's a solid one. What do you think about this strategy? Is it stretching it too far? Would you look at buying 2 cheaper properties?

2. Foxdan

Foxdan Well-Known Member

Is your strategy to buy and hold or is your strategy to buy and then sell in a few years (assuming capital growth)?
    As a general rule of thumb, higher value properties will have a lower rental yield. So 2 X smaller properties might provide better cash flow.
    If you plan on selling after brisbane has finished its current growth cycle, it also might be better to opt for 2 cheaper properties so that you can sell them in different financial years and spread the capital gains tax across 2 separate years.

Just suggestions.

HUGH72 and Inov8ive like this.
  3. jprops

jprops Well-Known Member

Thanks for your response. Spreading CGT across two years with 2 properties is something I hadn't thought of. My thoughts are to buy and hold - accessing the equity to fund further IP's before purchasing the PPOR.

4. Property Twins