VIC First IP: Altona Meadows or Point Cook

Discussion in 'Where to Buy' started by Becs, 17th Sep, 2017.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Becs

Becs Member

Hi everyone. I am hunting for an established house for my first IP and currently looking at Point Cook and Altona Meadows (with budget of around 580K). Any thoughts on which of these two locations is better to buy and will yield better gains in the future? I know no one has the crystal ball to predict the future, but some guidance on what to consider so I can make an informed decision will be great. I am also quite new to property investments and still trying to get my head around my strategy. Any inputs from members of the group is highly appreciated. Thanks in advance.

2. Cimbom

Cimbom Well-Known Member

I think you need to increase your budget for those suburbs

Anthony Brew, MikeyBallarat and Becs like this.
  3. Becs

Becs Member

Good point. With my budget and current search through Domain and REA apps (have not engaged any agent yet), my budget is 'just 'there' to get into those suburbs. So I will try to fit to my budget the type of house that the budget can afford and potentially increase the budget as well.

4. Westie

Westie Well-Known Member

Both will do well in the long run. What you need to do though is ensure you can hold given the rental yield will be poor. Buy under market value, seek to add value (reno for instance) and go from there. If you -ve gear too much you might not be able to purchase another IP any time soon (this is assuming I know nothing of your financial situation). Good luck though!

Becs likes this.
  5. Becs

Becs Member