First Home Loan Deposit Scheme becomes IP

Discussion in 'Legal Issues' started by Jamie18, 8th Jul, 2020.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Jamie18

Jamie18 New Member

Hi everyone,

This is my first time posting here and I have a question about the FHLDS where you can borrow 95% without LMI for your first home.

I have recently purchased a new home under the scheme, as well as receiving the $10k FHOG and stamp duty exemption.

I understand that there are legal requirements which mean I must owner-occupy the property for a minimum 12 months, otherwise the State Revenue Office could come after me to pay back the $10k FHOG.

My question is: following that 12 month period of being an owner-occupier, what is stopping me from then renting out the property while it is still under the FHLDS scheme?

I have read in the FHLDS information brochure that loans may become ineligible for the scheme if the owner-occupier requirement is not maintained, and that the borrower might be subject to paying lenders mortgage insurance on the loan.

But how would the bank find out that I was no longer the owner-occupier if I were to rent it out? Is it illegal to ‘deceive’ the bank in this way? What could be the penalties involved if I were to do this and the bank found out?

Thank you to anyone who can provide me with any constructive information!

Jamie

2. Curoch

Curoch Active Member

Yes, it would be illegal. I don't know what the penalties are - just don't do it.

3. Paul@PAS

Paul@PAS Tax, Accounting + SMSF + All things Property Tax Business Plus Member