NSW First home ? CAMPBELLTOWN

Discussion in 'Where to Buy' started by EmeraldPrism, 24th Jul, 2017.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. EmeraldPrism

EmeraldPrism New Member

Hi all,

I've had a good read of the forums and I know the advice has been to stay away from Sydney. However, for first home buyers with the stamp duty exemption, is there any value in buying say a 2 bed villa in Leumeah for 400K? Our plan would be to stay for the required 6 months or so then rent it out and rent ourselves elsewhere in western Sydney (but hold onto it for the long term).

Alternatively, prior to the stamp duty exemption my plan was to invest in Brisbane in an area like Ferny Hills, maybe spend the same around $400K for something like a townhouse?

I'm sorry if it's been covered before, I've been reading the forum before but never posted, I'd be grateful for any advice at all.

2. Craig John

Craig John Active Member

Im no expert but im not sure there is much driving growth in the campbelltown area. There isnt any major development in the area as far as im concerned.

Tekoz likes this.
  3. EmeraldPrism

EmeraldPrism New Member

That's true. Do you think anywhere in Sydney is worth buying in with a long term outlook? It feels like such a waste to pay $20K in stamp duty when you don't have to, although you may end up losing more in the short term if/when a downturn happens.

4. Property Twins

Property Twins Mortgage Brokers & Buyers Agents Business Member

People will always need somewhere to live. Home is a very personal and lifestyle decision. Depending on one's ability to borrow combined with the use of post tax dollars sometimes it does make sense to buy a home. With the borrowing being much tighter make sure you do your numbers on home first or IP first...

No right answer. Simply what do you want to achieve and what's more important to yourself.

You won't go wrong in Sydney long term.