First home buyer investment strategy - VIC

Discussion in 'Investment Strategy' started by Proper_Tea, 2nd Aug, 2020.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Proper_Tea

Proper_Tea Member

Hi everyone,
    Stumbled across this forum through my Googling and have found some great information so far.

I'm new to all of this and realising that it's a jungle out there in terms of how much there is to know! This forum is one of the places I'll be turning to to help increase my knowledge.

I'm a Victorian-based first home buyer at the point where I have saved enough of a deposit (90k + ~30K gift from parents) and am now in the early process of researching and gaining pre-approval for a house or townhouse in VIC.
    I would love to hear your thoughts on how I'm thinking about approaching this.

I'm thinking of purchasing my first property an an owner-occupier with the view of converting it into an investment property after I've satisfied the 12 month occupancy period.

My reason for taking this path is that I'm in a lifestyle position where I afford to up and move for 12 months with minimal issues (no kids and I'm in a job where remote working is fairly easy). My first property is where I could do with the greatest leg up given my current salary, lack of other equity, therefore taking advantage of FHO benefits make most sense to me now.

On the flip side of the coin I am wondering whether it's worth at all considering skipping on the FHO incentives now and purchasing my first property as a pure investment, and saving the FHO incentives for when I actually want to purchase the home I want to live in.

Reasons I can think of are:
    - Increased options to choose from - can buy existing properties
    - Save me having to move for 12 months (not a huge hassle but still disruptive)