Financial Advice For Young Couple

Discussion in 'Financial Planning' started by skinner84, 5th Jun, 2019.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. skinner84

skinner84 Member

Hi guys,

Long time lurker first time poster. I've been analysing and improving our financial situation for the past 6 months thanks to reading the barefoot investor. While his book is very simple and high level, it opened my eyes to a lot of things that I had previously dismissed (such as the share market). I've now read some more advanced books like Motivated Money, The Intelligent Investor as well as spending a lot of time reading this forum. A bit about our financial situation/plan:

My wife and in our early 30's, with a $500K PPOR loan. We're at approximately 40% LVR. We have no other debt (including no credit card) and we're comfortably saving $2K a month into an offset account that is currently at $35K. While the safe and "tax free" return of the offset account is nice, I want to get into the share market now instead of waiting for the home loan to be paid off. Debt recycling seems like a really good strategy to allow us to do this (thanks @Terry_w for all your tax tips). Each time we have $10K additional savings in our offset account (on top of $30K that stays there for emergencies), I would split the PPOR by $10K, pay it down, redraw and invest into one of the old LICs (MLT, AFI, ARG etc) depending on the best discount to NTA at the time. The shares would be in my wife's name as she is in a much lower tax bracket than me.