Finance with temporary employment

Discussion in 'Loans & Mortgage Brokers' started by Flip, 22nd Jun, 2015.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Flip

Flip New Member

Hi there,

I am looking for guidance on obtaining a loan. I am currently employed as a temp through an agency at a bank. I have been working in the same job / employer for 4 months on a salary of $72k, however as I am new to Australia on a temp partner visa, I have not been able to get a full time permanent position.

I have $280k in cash and have found a house I want this weekend at auction, can you please provide me some information on what sort of loan i can obtain and which lenders will consider my situation?

Thanks in advance.

2. Jess Peletier

Jess Peletier Mortgage Broker & Finance Strategy, Aus Wide! Business Member

CBA might look at it but not many will consider with less than 6 -12 months in the job. What kind of purchase price are you hoping for?

3. Shahin_Afarin

Shahin_Afarin Residential and Commercial Broker Business Member

Not enough information - you may need to do the purchase with a 25% contribution or it may be much less. However based on the limited info provided it looks to be 80% purchase.

4. Flip

Flip New Member

Hi Jess and Shahin -

I am purchasing with my husband who is self employed and has tax returns for last 2 years, we are looking at a dream house this weekend - purchase price is 2m. My partner is self employed with loans already and some property that will need a reshuffle -we also have a house he owns worth around 1m that we will sell. however i'm just trying to see if i can hold up my side of the deal with my husband so not all the strain is on him. Will it matter if i'm not a Perm Resident?

Sorry if not enough info.

Thanks again guys

5. Shahin_Afarin

Shahin_Afarin Residential and Commercial Broker Business Member

That's good then - the application is going to be much stronger.