Finance for Granny Flat

Discussion in 'Loans & Mortgage Brokers' started by filipe, 2nd Feb, 2017.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
Tags:
  1. filipe

filipe Well-Known Member

I am looking to buy a property as my PPOR. I can personally afford a higher loan than what I am being offered, but due to lender restrictions it seems they are not going to give me as much finance as I would ideally like (due to my income, circumstances, they are not as generous as I would like!).

Therefore, I have to use more equity for this purchase (I have been saving to do this for many years and have a very sizeable deposit). The LVR will be under 70%. I was hoping to get a higher loan and then leave plenty of spare money to later fund a granny flat development in the backyard but now need to use all this money to purchase the property alone due to the low loan offered.

I am wondering if I should proceed and buy the property I am interested in, knowing that I no longer have financial capacity to build the granny flat, and later on (6-12 months or longer) try and obtain separate finance to cover the granny flat build. Is this possible? Is it hard to get finance on a GF build?

The granny flat would cost about $100-120k, maybe a bit more after fencing/etc is accounted for. The expected return is $400-500 per week. Being conservative I would say $425/week.

2. Corey Batt

Corey Batt Well-Known Member

It is possible - this effective paid down equity you've put down will then be able to factored towards the granny flat construction.

Each lender has different policies on construction and granny flats, so it will be very important to ensure the right lender is used for the initial purchase.