FHLDS Question

Discussion in 'Loans & Mortgage Brokers' started by Fred_11, 11th Jan, 2020.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
Tags:
  1. Fred_11

Fred_11 Member

Hi All.
    I only just today found out about the FHLDS on TV where they said the initial allocation had been exhausted (I dont watch a lot of tv). From further reading I believe it's 3,000 allocations from CBA & NAB that have been exhausted?

Using the online eligibility tool, it looks like we are eligible for the scheme.

My partner & I have been saving for approximately 9 months. We've got around $30k savings and are looking to buy something established around the $400k mark in Perth.
    We actually saw a mortgage broker in November but the broker never mentioned anything about the scheme, or even the SHSSS. Naturally I am disappointed to have missed out on the initial allocation.

I was hoping people might have some advise on how to maximise our chances of a successful application when the remaining spots open up to the smaller banks in Feb?
    - I feel like I've lost confidence in the advise from my broker because I would have thought that he should have known about the scheme in November, or at least in recent discussions (early Jan). I'm also concerned he may not have commission agreements with a lot of the smaller banks & thereby limiting our chances if we continue with him?

I know very little about the application process & would love to hear from people who have accessed the scheme already.

Any information which may help us in securing an allocation in Feb would be greatly appreciated. :-D

2. Morgs

Morgs Well-Known Member Business Member

We had planned for months with our FHBs to get things ready and had reserved spots on the first day the scheme opened (2nd Jan).