NSW FHB - Where to buy ?

Discussion in 'Where to Buy' started by Manu.227, 5th Mar, 2021.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Manu.227

Manu.227 Member

Hi All,

I am a FHB, planning to buy house in areas like Schofields, Quakers hill, Box hill, Marsden Park or Riverstone. The reason for selecting these suburbs is the metro connectivity (in coming future) to city, and my price budget.
    I am looking to buy propery around 900k-1M budget.

I am fairly new to the market, and very much confused on which suburb to consider for capital growth. In addition, my timings also seems to be very wrong as house prices are sky high these days.

It would be of great help if I can advise on few things -
    1) Which suburb to consider ?
    2) Is it the write time to enter the market or should I wait for sometime for market to get stable ?
    3) Is the interest rate expected to rise in coming 2-3 years ? This will certaily help me deciding my budget.

Thanks !!

2. marty998

marty998 Well-Known Member

Metro or not Schofields is a long long way from the city.

I thought prices were high in 2010 when I bought my first place. If I tried buying now, I’d be paying 75% more for it. What do you think you might be paying for your $900k place if you wait a few more years?

Interest rates go up and down. Everyone has a different tolerance to risk and is comfortable with holding different levels of emergency funds.

Only you can answer that question. I’d be fine if rates went up a few %. Would you have a plan for that? If you don’t, would you back yourself to figure out a plan?

3. Trainee

Trainee Well-Known Member

But you are also looking for brand new, yes?

4. Manu.227

Manu.227 Member

I am open for both new and old houses.

5. Manu.227

Manu.227 Member

Thanks Marty for your inputs. It certainly clarify few of my doubts.