Factoring Utility Bills into AirBnB listing price

Discussion in 'Airbnb & Short Term Letting' started by Sam654, 13th May, 2022.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Sam654

Sam654 Active Member

Hello,

I'm new to AirBnB.

I have a 4 bedroom, 1 Study, 2 bathroom house 20 mins out from Adelaide CBD that I'm thinking of AirBnB'ing out. Other than the last 9 months, I've only lived in 1 or 2 bed apartments in Sydney for the last 15 years. Although I've been in the house for a while now, it's only been myself and my partner and living very frugal with keeping usage low which isn't something I would guess AirBnB guest consider. Since being here, our bills have been roughly the same (a touch more) as in the 1 bed apartment in Sydney!

My question is how much should be factored for bills (Gas, Electricity, Water, Internet) when deciding how much to list an AirBnB property for. What I'm after is for people to offer their experience, wisdom or just educated guesses.

I know setting a price is about looking at the market and deciding using what I find. There really aren't many 4 bedroom places on AirBnB available to compare to, and I would like to decide if I can afford to AirBnB the house over the winter period as opposed to doing a 4 or 5 month furnished let. I do plan to AirBnB it come the Summer as I'm sure it'll be more popular.

I very much appreciate your time.

Thanks
    Sam

2. Marg4000

Marg4000 Well-Known Member

Just make sure your listing price is within the normal range for the area.

If you are audited (as my son was), that is the first thing the ATO looked at. They look for people who deliberately overprice the property to maximise vacancies and deductions. They also checked for how widely they property was advertised, I.e., more than one platform.

3. thatbum

thatbum Well-Known Member

Like you said, pricing is about what the market will accept, so it sounded like you answered your own question.