Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community

Extra cash ideas

Discussion in 'Living Room' started by Robbo03, 25th Oct, 2015.

1. Robbo03

Robbo03 Well-Known Member

Hi all,

So long story short, I am a teacher in Hobart with a management position, trained in Health and Physical Education, earning about $96k. My partner is also a teacher, earning about $75k and pregnant, due in Feb.

Next year we will be down to one income, and although we have a decent cash buffer and two basically neutral IP's, I am very keen to continue to see our offset funds increase during my partners year off.

So my very broad question is, does anyone have any ideas about ways to earn extra income that can be done in someones spare time? I understand that if there was an easy way to make spare $$$ everyone would be doing it but interested to hear peoples ideas.

Cheers

2. KayTea

KayTea Well-Known Member

I'm a teacher too, so following this one with interest.

But tutoring is usually a good gig. Also, while it may not earn you any extra $$$, look at putting some funds into your partner's super while she isn't earning (depending on how long she is taking off). It can be a positive for you (tax-wise), and also keeps her fund increasing while she's not earning, which will be of benefit later on.

Lizzie likes this.
  3. Lizzie

Lizzie Well-Known Member

Online business seems to be the go nowadays. Is there anything she is interested in, importing/making and selling?

Skater does well importing skates (and gear) and selling online ... I make and grow products that I sell online, at markets and via retailers ... I know there are others out there in Propertychat that do similar ... the secret is to find a niche.

Otherwise - tutoring could be a good gig to undertake from home, or in others homes, with a baby in tow - or she could leave the baby at home with you ;)

4. Gockie

Gockie I'm an ISTP-A female, so I might be a bit quirky! Premium Member