Explanation on how depreciation

Discussion in 'Accounting & Tax' started by bonanzawealth, 6th Aug, 2015.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. bonanzawealth

bonanzawealth Well-Known Member

Although I've been hearing that depreciation can be helpful for IP cashflow, I don't exactly understand how it works.

Could someone please explain it in plain English as I'm not a tax expert as well? Or if you don't mind, a diagram perhaps?

2. Peter_Tersteeg

Peter_Tersteeg Mortgage Broker Business Member

Many items, such as the building component of an IP depreciate. That is, the construction materials drop in value over time, because they fall apart. Eventually you will either have to repair the building or replace it.

In recognition of this, the tax office allows you to write of the value of the building and many other times over time. Buildings can generally be written off over 40 years, so you get to claim a drop of 2.5% of the building value every year (since it was built I think).

Say the building is worth $400k, you get to write off $10,000 a year ($400k x 2.5% = $10k)

Now let's assume your normal taxable income is $100,000. You'd pay about $24,947 in income tax.

The $10k of depreciation you can claim makes your new taxable income $90,000. You should have paid $21,247 in tax.

You get a refund of the difference ($24,947 - $21,247) which is $3,700.

Your annual cash flow has increased by $3,700 because you own a building that drops in value over time. :)

* I'm no accountant and I'm not certain of the figures, or if the methodology is 100% accurate, but this is my laymans understanding of how it works.

** There's additional depreciation available for lots of other things in the property, a lot of it on shorter schedules than 40 years. That's why you should get a depreciation report to make sure you cover it all.

KMD and thatbum like this.
  3. bonanzawealth

bonanzawealth Well-Known Member