ExPat/SelfEmployed/FHB Home Loan

Discussion in 'Loans & Mortgage Brokers' started by gelliott, 14th Apr, 2021.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. gelliott

gelliott Member

Hi Everyone, I'm glad to have found this site and hoping I can get some answers and guidance on my current situation in applying for a mortgage. I have a number of questions, but some background first. I'm an expat, having lived in the UK for the past 20 years, but returned in Jun 2019. Having moved back, I had no idea of the complexities and challenges there are in applying for a mortgage. It was far simpler in the UK, but then the UK is more complicated in other areas such as gazumping and long property chains.
    Current Status:
    - Me (47): Self Employed, ABN and Incorporation in Jan 2019. I'm an Enterprise Architect and work remotely for an organisation in Spain, but billed through the UK. I've had the same contract both before moving back to Aus, and since. My contract is around $275k per year (daily rate of £600). All run through my own pty ltd company and I pay Super, and Salary for this amount. My 2019/2020 salary from my own company was $220,000 and will be roughly the same for 2020/21. I did some other internet stuff as well, but only brought in a small amount of around $20K.
    - Wife (45): Has not been employed the last 14 years as she's been a stay at home mum, and hasn't really needed to work up until now. She recently started a casual job in caring, but very recently and not long enough to consider for the mortgage.
    - Deposit: Currently have around $120k for a deposit. Cost us a fortune to relocate and setup back in Oz, so a lot smaller than we originally hoped for.
    - Assets: Not very much, $110k in super here, and £30k in pension in the UK. Cars about $20k, Shares $15k
    - Target Home: We're looking to purchase around the $800k mark.