Equity required to buy a second home

Discussion in 'Loans & Mortgage Brokers' started by Bean27, 8th Jan, 2019.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Bean27

Bean27 Well-Known Member

Hi Guys

I am pretty new to real estate but I feel I have learnt a fair bit in a short time, I purchased my first home in May for 240 k. I live in Devonport Tasmania where the median house price is now 260. We have done a lot of renovations so far and with a slight market increase we have an estimated equity amount of 60 k. My question is what would a good amount of equity be to buy our second home as an investment property? My goal would be to continue to renovate and be in an equity position of 100 k by 2023ish.

Thank You

2. Terry_w

Terry_w Lawyer, Tax Adviser and Mortgage broker in Sydney Business Member

at least 15% of the new purchase price would be needed as usuable equity (90% of actual equity).

3. Bean27

Bean27 Well-Known Member

Thank you that is great to know. So hypothetically speaking right now I have 54 k of usable equity at the moment and could buy something around 300 k to invest in. I guess the key is to have the LTVR under 80 % though.

4. Rolf Latham

Rolf Latham Inciteful (sic) Staff Member Business Plus Member

that would depend on goals and access to higher LVR finance.......

some peops even want 95 and can get it

ta
    rolf

5. Bean27

Bean27 Well-Known Member

Yeah OK, I guess its a fine balance, at 95 % the repayments would be very high so not ideal if you can't find a tenant

6. Peter_Tersteeg

Peter_Tersteeg Mortgage Broker Business Member

Generally speaking you can borrow up to 80% of the existing property for equity release purposes. The equity you have available is the difference between that and what you currently owe.

Equity available = (Current value of the property x 80%) - Amount owing