Entry Level Office Investment

Discussion in 'Commercial Property' started by jaydee, 7th Nov, 2019.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. jaydee

jaydee Well-Known Member

Hi from Perth

Although not an active poster, I have been a long time member of this and the former Somersoft forum. As a past property enthusiast I am now retired and looking to offload properties over the next few years (to minimize CG tax). One of these properties is a small office suite in Nedlands, Perth which is currently leased and I have advertised for sale on a couple of websites as well as this forum.

Whilst most of my properties were residential, I bought this property back in 2003 as an investment in a family trust. As a consultant, I also had the intention to use it for my business purposes, however, it has been leased for the majority of the time so I never actually used it myself.

I initially used an RE Agent to manage the property, however, I have been self managing for the past 10 years and can happily attest to it being pretty easy other than when tenancies end (usually 2-3 years). Even when vacant, I find I can action any enquiries and inspections from prospective tenants a lot quicker that most agents.

The Perth property market is pretty flat and similar properties were being advertised for $170-180k approx 5-6 years ago. The property is currently leased until Aug 2021 and would preferably suit an investor who may also wish to utilise the office in the future for their own purposes. There are a couple of other offices for sale in the building via RE Agents.