Engaging a buyer's agent...

Discussion in 'The Buying & Selling Process' started by whacky, 13th Aug, 2022.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. whacky

whacky Active Member

Hi all,
    I had couple of questions come up in my mind regarding engaging buyers agents for buying a PPOR:

1. Whats the usual fee structure for a buyers agent?
    2. Is there a set time-period for the engagement? i.e. 3-months, 6-months etc
    3. What if we don't like any of the properties (aesthetics or price) the buyers agent is showcasing, will we be pressured to a "deal"? Industry's answer to this will be "obviously no pressure" but I would like to know what really happens out there in the real world.

Might sound like naive questions, I am new to this process hence asking.

2. skater

skater Well-Known Member

What is stopping you from going out and looking for a PPOR yourself? To me a PPOR is a more emotive purchase than an IP, so the chance of a BA actually getting the right home for you is much less.

For instance, we've just moved into our new PPOR. I wanted new and shiny in a nice spot, Hubby wanted a nice view. We found many along the way that fitted that criterior and could have been purchased for much less than we paid. We settled for an older home on a canal, so Hubby got his nice view, I got a fixer-upper (again) grrrr.

3. NickClunes

NickClunes Residential and Commercial Broker Business Member

I am not a buyers agent but have worked with a couple of them consistently so have an understanding of their processes.

Using a buyer's agent for your PPOR is a great idea if you are time-poor and would like to benefit from their negotiation skills.

1) This will depend on the buyer's agent you choose and their level of service. Generally under a certain amount ($700k) for example will be a flat fee, whilst above this will be a percentage. The percentage varies heavily from agent to agent and is generally around 1% to 2%.