Endorsed neighbourhood site description plan

Discussion in 'Development' started by RickProp, 5th Dec, 2017.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. RickProp

RickProp Well-Known Member

Hi all,

Excuse me if this is a simple question but I am still learning. I am looking at a development site to potentially purchase. A site a few houses down which is the same size and dimensions has a planning application for 4 units in progress. They have just had their neighbourhood site description plan endorsed by council. What exactly does this mean, that the council will permit the number of units and design?

I want to ensure I can get 4 units on the site I am looking at. Obviously things like trees, sewers, stormwater, easements etc will also impact it but I assume it is a good start that council is endorsing their neighbourhood site description plan and allows the potential for 4 units on a similar site?

Thanks for your help.

2. Gavin Ng

Gavin Ng Well-Known Member

I wouldn't rely on it. If the sites are identical in respect to size, dimensions and zoning and other overlays it's promising to know you might be able to achieve a similar density, but there are too many other variables like you said, easements, sewer, topography, distance from other intersections, access that might be issues.

Why not start from scratch and do a proper assessment? You'll know for sure and it'll teach you the key controls as well.

RickProp likes this.
  3. RickProp

Thanks, yes I intend on doing as much due diligence as possible and a proper feasibility. I was more trying to understand the fact that there is an endorsed neighbourhood site description plan and what that means for similar sites. i.e. the fact that it has been endorsed, does this mean the council are happy with the density of that site i.e. 4 x 3 bed d/s units for the site dimensions, zoning, neighbourhood etc?

4. Mike Sargeant

Mike Sargeant Active Member