End to End Knock Down Rebuild Process in NSW - what is it? where to start?

Discussion in 'Development' started by Lauren Rea, 3rd Aug, 2020.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Lauren Rea

Lauren Rea New Member

Hello, apologies newbie here.
    I was recommended this forum as a starting place for my questions.

Background: I have recently returned from the UK, having lived my proper adult life there.... we have 9 properties there and rebuilt 2 (gutted and extended). I've brought a young family back and we want to buy to live in a typical australian family home- but many things we look at are knock down rebuild. I have huge doubts that it would be as easy or inexpensive as it was to do twice in the UK (where we had friends in the industry).

Question: What is the end to end process for a knockdown rebuild and what are the likely costs?
    An example of what I would have done in UK:
    - choose property, have an idea of what you want to do
    - send in independent surveyor to assess land and structure (£1600 for a serious survey)
    - send in builder for ballpark quote (No charge to quote)
    - hire architect and draw up plans (.uk friend.. only £1500 the plans)
    - in .uk architect takes care of planning permission and we just pay fees to council for submission (£600ish)
    - builder requotes based on architect plans and we're away with the builder taking care of meeting and having building regs approved....

Had a great builder last build and was able to work on a complete gut and refit a 2br terrace all in for £50k he was a friend again so was able to really work with him to know when costs come up and make changes to stick to budget

Other points
    - people have mentioned registering as an 'owner builder' and self managing - pros vs cons?
    - we are generally looking at the central coast / hunter nsw areas

2. Rolf Latham

Rolf Latham Inciteful (sic) Staff Member Business Plus Member

I will start