Emerging Markets in your SAA

Discussion in 'Share Investing Strategies, Theories & Education' started by blob2004, 26th Apr, 2019.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
?

Do you hold EM in your portfolio?

1. I use VGE

11 vote(s)
    20.4%
  2. I use VAE

22 vote(s)
    40.7%
  3. I use other products for EM

6 vote(s)
    11.1%
  4. I do not have EM in my portfolio

15 vote(s)
    27.8%
  1. blob2004

blob2004 Well-Known Member

Hi all,

I have been pondering about emerging markets for some time, and while I think having some exposure to it is a great idea especially when you can stomach the volatility as a young investor, I wanted to see what everyone thinks and their reasoning behind their allocation (p.s. I am just an amateur investor so much of what i said could be wrong!)

I see many people here have a small allocation for either VGE or VAE, and I suppose the biggest reasoning behind it is to avoid regret of missing out on a big run (p.s. I do understand they are different products but I feel it is a matter of preference and whether you wanted to take a punt on Asia).

I know the US Bogleheads do not seem to typically include EM in their portfolio (heck most of them advocate just US equities in the two fund portfolio), but the idea of catching on a big growth train in EM is quite appealing. Places like China and India have been thought to have significant growth still ahead.

However, I do see many arguments against EM. Due to the poorer regulations and high government influence, and also more frequent share dilutions, the returns of their stocks could be quite poor even if the economy grows well. The inefficient market could also cause passive indexing to return inferior results compared to active management in those places.